Ontology Summit 2010: Creating the Ontologists of the Future

*alphanumerics in parens are purplenumbers

5th in the series of a 3-month annual event by and for the Ontology Community. This Summit is co-organized by Ontolog, NIST, NCOR, NCBO, IAOA, … (more, coming!)    (22PR)*

What's New:    (22PS)

Preliminary organization work is now on-the-way – see: /GettingOrganized    (22PT)

The 2010 NIST Interoperability Week is going to be on the week of 15-Mar-2010    (22PU)

Our 2-day OntologySummit2010_Symposium has now been scheduled for March 15 & 16, 2010 (Monday and Tuesday), and, like the previous years, it will be held at the NIST campus at Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA.    (22PV)

Objective:    (22PW)

Theme: "Creating the Ontologists of the Future"    (22US)

Description, Goals & Objectives:    (22PZ)

(draft) Increasingly, major national and international projects centered on ontology technology are being advanced by governments and by scientific and industrial organizations. This brings a growing need for ontology expertise and thus for new methods and institutions for the training of ontologists. The 2010 Ontology Summit will explore strategies to address this need in terms of curriculum, establishment of new career tracks, role of ontology support organizations and funding agencies, as well as training in the analysis and comparison of methodologies for designing, maintaining, implementing, testing and applying ontologies and associated tools and resources.    (22UT)

Process & Deliverables    (22V3)

Similar to our last 4 summits, this Ontology Summit will comprise of 3 months of virtual discourse (over our archived mailing lists) and virtual panel sessions (over augmented conference calls), and will culminate in a 2-day face-to-face workshop/symposium to be held on Mon & Tue, 15 & 16-March-2010 at NIST (Gaithersburg, Maryland, US) during which we will, among other things, distill our thoughts into a collaboratively developed Communiqué (and possibly even a range of follow-up projects and action items.)    (22V4)

The Team    (22PX)

Organizing Committee:    (22PY)

BarrySmith    (22UU)

FabianNeuhaus    (22UV)

LeoObrst    (22UW)

MarkCarlisle    (22UX)

MarkMusen    (22UY)

NicolaGuarino    (22UZ)

PeterYim    (22V0)

SimonFrechette    (22V1)

SteveRay    (22V2)

… (more, coming!)