Semantic Web Ontolog Forum on Rules Interchange Format Thursday, 12-Jun-2008

The Ontolog virtual event with invited speaker, Dr. Christopher Welty (IBM Research; Chair, W3C RIF Working Group) is coming up Thursday, 12-Jun-2008 (starting at 10:30am PDT / 1:30pm EDT / 17:30 UTC). Dr. Welty will be giving a talk on "RIF: Rules Interchange Format."

RIF is the next [thing] in semantic web standards. This is the standard for rules interchange on the semantic web. The W3C RIF Working Group has been progressing at a glacial pace for 2.5 years but has finally settled on a "Basic Logic Dialect" (RIF-BLD) as a core rules language for logic-based rule systems (e.g. FOL, stable-model LP, well founded LP, etc.). In this talk Dr. Welty will review RIF-BLD, its syntax and semantics, and talk about future plans.

This is the first of a two-session sequel — the next session is scheduled for Thu 2008.06.26 where we will be having a panel session on "Rules in Semantic Web Applications."  Anyone who sees the importance of semantic technologies or the semantic web, and would like to track their development should come join us and exchange insights with Chris and like-minded folks in the community.

*RSVP* by e-mailing the sender <peter.yim@cim3.com> off-line (if you aren’t already on the [ontolog-invitation] list, kindly include your name, affiliation and job title as well) if you are planning to attend and haven’t already responded.

We look forward to having you at the session. Please refer to the agenda and call-in details on the session page [here].

Regards.  =ppy
Peter P. Yim Co-convener, ONTOLOG